Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Community Service Hours

The Teen Volunteers page has been updated with dates for November & December. Check it out and call us today to register!

We are still looking for volunteers for our Halloween Party on Saturday, October 29th! Volunteers will help set up, run games, assist with simple crafts, and clean up. Volunteers must be 6th grade and up. Call us today! 

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Watch Out For Fred!!

Stephanie came across a new patron in the library today after Lego League finished!
Frightening Fred seems to be taking over the Youth Services Airplane! Watch out!! 

Here are some photos from October Lego League!

Saturday, October 8, 2016

Book Discussions with a Thrill

A Curious Tale of the In-Between 

by Lauren DeStephano

Thursday, October 27 @ 4:30pm 

Join us to talk about what you liked or didn't like about the book and eat snacks.

This ghost story blends heartwarming chills with the lesson of true friendship perfect for buddling up with a cool October night. Fans of Goosebumps, Neil Gaiman, Scary Stories, and Pseudonymous Bosch will enjoy.

A Monster Calls

By Patrick Ness

Thursday, October 13 @ 4:30pm

Join us for snacks and to talk about the book.

This intense story with darkly beautiful illustrations may be just the book your looking for this October. 

"The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. But it isn't the monster Conor's been expecting. he's been expecting the one form his nightmare, the nightmare he's had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming... This monster, though, is something different..." 
*Recommended for Grades 8 & Up

Read it before the movie is released! 

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Celebrate Your Right to Read!

It's Banned Books Week!

 Banned Books Week celebrates our First Amendment rights and the freedom to read. Each year, hundreds of books are banned or challenged in schools and libraries by people who feel the books and/or information should be removed and no longer available to anyone. By reading banned books, you are celebrating your right to access information and challenging censorship.

Banned Books that may surprise you:

  • Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See by Bill Martin Jr. (JE Martin)
  • Where's Waldo by Martin Handford (JE Handford)
  • Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein (J811.54 Sil)
  • Little Red Riding Hood by The Brothers Grimm (J398.2 Gri)
  • And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson (JE Richardson)
  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain (J Twain)
  • The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger (YA Salinger)
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (YA Bradbury)
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitsgerald (YA Fitzgerald)
  • Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak (JE Sendak)
  • Looking for Alaska by John Green (YA Green)
  • The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian by Sherman Alexie (YA Alexie)
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (YA Green)
  • Harry Potter by JK Rowling (YA Rowling)
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (YA Collins)